Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  Use Case: Master Table vs Pipeline?

Posted 01-09-2022 07:59

I am new to Pipelines and also new to Master Tables and would like community guidance:

Use Case: We have a complex Project Management Tracking System built in QuickBase.   (400 projects, 150 users, 40 of which are Project Managers)

• The Project Table has 1:many relationship to the Tasks Table.
    • The Task Master Table also has a 1:many relationship to the Tasks Table.
    • There are 50 tasks located in the Task Master Table that need to be populated to the Tasks Table each time a new Project record is changed to confirm that the Project Requestor has completed their preliminary scoping documentation.
    • We currently do not permit the Project Managers to add / delete tasks since these 50 tasks are required (and sufficient for tracking purposes).

What is the best method to automatically create the 50 new task records in the Tasks table each time a New Project Request has been completed?   In QuickBase documentation, there is an article on Master Tables, but before I go that route, I am wondering if perhaps a Pipeline is a better way to solve this Use Case. I am new to Pipelines and taking some of the QB University Training and am confused about things such as 'Bulk Record Upsert' and other options.

Please provide general guidance on the best way to proceed.

Thanks in advance for your guidance.

------------------------------
    Annetta Coleman

• 2.  RE: Use Case: Master Table vs Pipeline?

Posted 01-09-2022 09:43
    Edited by Mark Shnier (Your Quickbase Coach) 01-09-2022 10:23
    This should be done with a Pipeline.  If you have never done your first Pipeline, this is a perfect use case to plunge in and learn.

The Trigger should be "On Event" as opposed to Record Created.  That will give you the flexibility to trigger on the Project being edited in case for some reason you wanted to manually trigger.