Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  Within the same table, can I have a formula access a field of a different record, given the key?

Posted 10-29-2019 16:37
    Edited by Adam Rain 10-29-2019 16:39
    I am new to quickbase and have been struggling to figure out how to make this work. Ultimately I am trying to fill in the "Stop Date" of one record with the "Start date" of a new record. I've managed to grab a snapshot of the appropriate record ID (I could just take a snapshot of the appropriate start date, but I want to reflect any possible changes. The record id will never change though).
    Is it possible to have a formula access the field of another record in the same table?
    example: [StopDate] = [Record ID]->[Start Date]

desired data:
    Record ID       Snap ID       Start       Stop     Related Person
                   1                              10-5                                      John
                   2                     1       9-28       10-5                      John
                   3                            10-19                                       Sara
                   4                     3          8-3    10-19​                        Sara
                   5                     4        3-23        8-3                        Sara

------------------------------
    Adam Rain

• 2.  RE: Within the same table, can I have a formula access a field of a different record, given the key?

Posted 10-29-2019 17:23
    Quick Base will allow you to make a Relationship between a table and itself.  So if you have a way to know what the "previous" record is, then you can flow lookup information down.