Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  Bi Monthly Billing Calculated Field based off Date chosen

Posted 08-05-2021 21:34

Good Evening,

I am new to quickbase and am trying to figure out a way to set up a filter where a user selects a date and then a report will filter for their current billing period. We bill bi-monthly 1-15th and 16th-30th or 31st.

I was hoping a user could enter a billing record and chose 08/05/2021 and once they save and close the record their dashboard will have a "Current Billing Period" report so they only see the entries for the Current Billing Period whatever date it falls in, and once we get to August 16th the report will refresh with just those entries. 

Is there a good way to do that? 

Or a calculated date field that would some how make a string like 08-01-2021 - 08-15-2021, based on the date would be great too.

Thank you,

Ryan

------------------------------
    Ryan Locke

• 2.  RE: Bi Monthly Billing Calculated Field based off Date chosen

Posted 08-06-2021 19:31
    What is the value you're calculating the timeframe on? Is it all records due on the 15th or the 31st or is it based on some form of date criteria already- i.e. contract start date, user input deadline?

It seems like when building a table you should be able to set criteria similar to the below based on what you're reference field is (i'm using deadline as an example):
    Deadline = during= current= month
    Deadline=during= past= 15 = days

To have on the homepage dashboard, it won't show a table that requires a "user select" date, you'd need to create a shortcut button to the full table if you want to sort based on something that the user selects uniquely each time.
    You could however show the above formula and also add a criteria of something like "sales person= the current user" and it would show only records for that user with the additional criteria.

Hope I understood what you meant!

Korrie Clark