Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  Using an app variable in webhook

Posted 12-28-2019 00:43
    Hey all!

As a programmer, I love it when I can define a constant that I can use everywhere. That way I only change one thing when/if that thing changes.
    App variables are these beautiful constants.

However, I can not find a way to use app variables in a webhook, which feels like an oversight to me.
    Currently, I am trying to use an app variable in the URL of the webhook. 
    First off, it's a little annoying because the webhook URL must start with https://, second, it's annoying because I can't use app variables here. As far as I know.

I tried creating a field that was just the app constant, because I do have access to fields and their values in a webhook, but it altered the slashes and turned them into % things that the URL didn't know how to handle. 

So, how can I use an app variable in a webhook?
    Or is there some other way to have a constant? It would be even better actually if I could share it between apps. =)

Thanks for the help!

------------------------------
    - Sterling Long!

• 2.  RE: Using an app variable in webhook

Posted 12-28-2019 08:30
    Edited by Mark Shnier (Your Quickbase Coach) 12-28-2019 08:49
    I don't know if you can use an App Variable in a Webhook.  But I never use them because only the admin has access to them both for viewing and for editing and  since they are only in text format, when you go to use them you have to say ToNumber([my app variable]).  I also think that they are a bit obscure, in that if someone else ends up having to support the app it may confuse them at first as to how that "field" is working when it's not in the field list. 

So so what I tend to do is to create a Global Variables table with a single record.  It will be [Record ID#] of 1.

Then make a reference field on any table where you need to look up values from the Global parameters and make a reference  formula field with a formula of 1.