Discussions

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Becky Moore

Becky Moore09-05-2018 18:04

• 1.  HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-05-2018 18:04

• 2.  RE: HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-05-2018 18:14
    Use a formula-text field "##-##-####" and show that field on the form instead and make sure it shows only in view mode. For add/edit mode, you can use the real field.

• 3.  RE: HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-05-2018 18:57
    I am new to this.  Can you walk me through it please?

• 4.  RE: HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-06-2018 11:21
    Folks,

Can someone create a screencast for Becky? I don't have access to it from work.

• 5.  RE: HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-06-2018 16:58
    Becky. Is your SSN a text field now or numeric? If you answer that then I will help you with the code to show a formatted formula text field.

• 6.  RE: HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-21-2018 13:16
    It was a text field but I changed it to a formula text field but that did not work either. 

• 7.  RE: HOW DO I FORMAT A FIELD ON A FORM FOR A SOCIAL SECURITY FIELD TO: ###-##-####

Posted 09-07-2018 19:58
    You should have 2 fields:
    1 for data entry - on form for add and edit.
    2 for showing Xs - on form for view.
    I assume it is not to match number for digit, so I would simply create a text formula, if(length([ssn])>0,"XXX-XX-XXXX",""). 

If you do want to match digit for digit you need a different formula, I would use this...
    case(length([ssn]),
    9,"XXX-XX-XXXX",
    8,"XXX-XX-XXX",
    7,"XXX-XX-XX",
    6,"XXX-XX-X",
    5,"XXX-XX",
    4,"XXX-X",