Discussions

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

how to run a javascript function before saving record?

• 1.  how to run a javascript function before saving record?

Posted 11-26-2015 16:50

I want to execute some javascript during a save operation.  Yes, I realize that  it is not supported, but I don't know how to do what I want without using the api in javascript.

I found this code by dandiebolt_QB_Pirate, Pres. of Import Onload Sector

DoSaveAdd = (function(fn){    return function(){    //your code      var result=fn.apply(fn, arguments);      return result;    }  })(DoSaveAdd); 

but I don't know where to put it or what to hook it to?  Any ideas?
    I also found this older reference but the site no longer exists... any thoughts? http://quickbase.posterous.com/a-quickbase-interposer

Thanks for the help, I am new to this as of the last couple months, but have a lot of IT experience..Dean

• 2.  RE: how to run a javascript function before saving record?

Posted 01-03-2016 18:15
    The essential question is: "Does your script require the value of the newly create [Recod ID#] from the add new record page?" If so I have a method called the Save and Do technique that will give you access to the newly created [Record ID#] value so that your script can use it. However, if you just want to run some script on the page that will respond to user events or execute just before the Save button is clicked you can just use the Standard Image Onload technique to get your script to load and execute. See:

Image Onload Technique
    https://haversineconsulting.quickbase.com/db/bgcwm2m4g?a=dr&rid=294

For help with the Save and Do technique please contact me using the information in my profile.

• 3.  RE: how to run a javascript function before saving record?

Posted 01-05-2016 03:43
    Hi Dan,
    Can you please help me understand how Save and Do is accomplished?

• 4.  RE: how to run a javascript function before saving record?

Posted 01-05-2016 16:44