"Reserved"-style warning for 2 users entering info into the same form?

  • 1
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Answered
We have a form that we use for each Job to track job information, etc. Typically there are 2 Users on each Job, which each have unique logins and will be inputting information into the same form while providing service. We seem to be losing information (overwrites) that's been input since both are inadvertently going into Edit mode at the same time.
Is there a way to inform (or lock-out) one User if another User is currently in Edit mode on that same form?
Photo of Sam

Sam

  • 140 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
  • 1
Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 67,348 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
A really nice feature of Quick Base is that it will natively do "Conflict resolution".  The best way to understand this is to have two separate users call up a record fort editing and then have changes made and then save.

Then the second user should also make changes and attempt to save and watch what happens.

It will hand hold the second user through conflict resolution, field by field.


Photo of Harrison Hersch (QB)

Harrison Hersch (QB), Quick Base Sr. Product Manager (Platform)

  • 1,478 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Quick Base actually natively protects against a conflict in these scenarios. When a potential conflict exists, the platform shows a warning message informing the user what the problem is and gives an option to accept their changes or keep the old ones.
Photo of Sam

Sam

  • 140 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
That's great! Thank you!