Deactivate Url Link in Email Notification After It has been sent

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • In Progress

An email notification is sent with a url link formula that allows a field to be changed in a table. However, sometimes the field in the table gets changed manually with a different text than what the email url is allowing. Ex. Email wants the field to change to "blue", but the manual adjustment change it to "red". When the link in the email gets clicked days after, the field in the table that was manually changed gets overwritten to a different text. Ex. The field that had "red" changes back to "blue". How do you keep the email from overwriting when you don't want it to? Is there a way to deactivate the email or the links in the email after is has been sent?

Photo of Quinten

Quinten

  • 732 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 year ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 51,316 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Its hard to understand exactly what you are asking, but if you have an formula URL Button button that you want to suppress under some conditions, just make it calculate to blank under those conditions.
Photo of Quinten

Quinten

  • 732 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

The Url button in the email will always update the field in the table no matter what. But I don't want it to if the field has already been changed to something else. How do I go about that?

Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 51,316 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Is there a way to know if the field have "been changed to something else"
Photo of Quinten

Quinten

  • 732 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

There is no way of telling the email that the multiple choice field has been changed, because it was manually changed. A solution would be to put a if then statement in the link in the email so when/if the field gets changed in the table, no affect will occur.

Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 51,096 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
What i meant was, from a business point of view are you OK to lock a set of users out from editing once the status = Shipped.
Photo of Quinten

Quinten

  • 732 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Yes, I suppose if that is a solution
Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 51,096 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
That is the only solution i can think of.
Photo of Quinten

Quinten

  • 732 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

How do I go about doing that? Do I give the viewer or participant the permission since the url button is in an email?

Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 51,096 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
You will need to make a new Role for these users, similar to Participant, so you can copy that Role, but them have a Custom Permission Rule for that table that it cannot be edited if the status is shipped.

User will need to be signed on to push the button.  Regular users will find that they will auto log in if they checked the box when signing in to Keep me signed in on this computer.