Delete a user permanently

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Acknowledged
I need to delete users who have left the company. I only seem to be able to deny access, not delete them entirely.
Photo of Mark van Niekerk

Mark van Niekerk

  • 20 Points

Posted 8 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Matthew Neil

Matthew Neil

  • 31,478 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
On the 'account' level, they will always appear on the list UNTIL you remove them from all of the application's user lists.

You can click on the user, and then the 'apps' tab to see which apps they have access to.  Then remove them from those apps individually.

Once that happens, they will essentially be 'deleted'.
Photo of Evan Martinez

Evan Martinez, Community Manager

  • 9,266 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Mark,

Matthew is correct that by default there is not an option for an Account to simply delete a user in Quick Base. Instead we use Deny as a means of specifically blacklisting a user from Quick Base. This way nobody else would be able to accidentally invite them back into any of your applications. You have essentially added them to the list of users you no longer want in your Quick Base and kept a record of it for the future. This way they also go into your Deny list should you ever need to reinvite that original user, or if in the future your company decides to reuse that email for a new user. I hope this information is helpful Mark.
Photo of Nick Bernal

Nick Bernal

  • 62 Points
What about the cases where a user's name/email address has changed and they've accidentally created a second account with the new address, as opposed to changing their email from their profile?

With the new email address on the deny list, it already exists, and there is now no way for that user to update her current login to her new address, and also no way to delete the account.

Having them abandon the old account for the new one is not a solution unless there is some hidden super-copy feature...

Photo of Evan Martinez

Evan Martinez, Community Manager

  • 9,266 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Nick,

In that instance you would want to have an account admin reach out to Quick Base Care and let them know the user accounts that you are having issues with. They can then invalidate the duplicate user that was accidentally created, but that would happen on the Quick Base side in order to free up that email address. An admin can request help with this via a support case which can be opened when signed into Quick Base by clicking on the question mark icon that appears in the upper right hand corner of the page or by clicking here.
(Edited)