save & keep working behavior

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 10 months ago
  • Acknowledged
We notice when a user clicks the New button and a new record is created, using Save & Keep Working and then Save & Close takes the user back to the Table home page; this is expected.

If we use the Add button on a form, a new child record is created. In this instance clicking Save & Keep Working causes the child Save button to forget the parent. When the user clicks Save & Close the child returns to the child table home page. If the child table home page is hidden from the user we see the big yellow error message. User is lost, malfunction.

We expect the Save & Keep Working button to keep state with the Parent record so that when Save & close is finally selected, the user is returned to the Parent form.

Does anyone else think this is a problem? 
Photo of Jim Harrison

Jim Harrison

  • 1,770 Points 1k badge 2x thumb

Posted 10 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Matthew Neil

Matthew Neil

  • 31,478 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
I'd agree that this is an issue, and should be updated in the button functionality.
Photo of Evan Martinez

Evan Martinez, Community Manager

  • 9,214 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Jim,

That is good insight on how that combination of steps can lead to a very confusing experience for your end users. I have included this in our internal intake application as feedback to our PD team. I would also as always suggest adding it to User Voice as that helps us to get visibility into how many other users are experiencing confusion from this behavior. Luckily it is a behavior that is easy to replicate so I'll be able to include some visuals along with the feedback. As always thank you for your feedback Jim.