Transposing a Report

• Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered

I have a report that shows 4 fields for each of 50 items for approximately 500 stores. It is very difficult to have to scroll over to see all of this data. I see that someone posted an option to transpose the report with _.transpose(qdb_data), but I am an app developer newbie. Can anyone explain in dummy terms how to go about setting this up?

I've attached samples of the regular report and the transposed version.

Thank you

Kim

Photo of Kim

Kim

• 142 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of David_In_Tucson

David_In_Tucson

• 216 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Kim,

I'm going to guess that this is a "summary" type report.

It looks like the rows are set up as store #.

Can you post a screen-shot of the report details "Summarize" and "Grouping and crosstabs"?

Is it the case that API1, API2, API3...  is 1 to 50?

And for each API, you have the fields:
AP1 External
AP1 New or Existing
AP1 Installed S/N
AP1 Installed MAC

It seems that these my be set up as "Group By Columns"

I'm guessing too much.  A screen shot would be very useful.

Thanks,

David in Tucson
Photo of Kim

Kim

Hi David, this is actually a detail report. I have not grouped or summarized. It is just sorted by store no.

Each store physically has 50 APs: AP1, AP2, AP3, etc. Each of those 50 APs has the 4 fields you listed above, but there is no actual field in QuickBase called AP1, AP2, etc. Just the fields below:

AP1 External
AP1 New or Existing
AP1 Installed S/N
AP1 Installed MAC
AP2 External
AP2 New or Existing
AP2 Installed S/N
AP2 Installed MAC
AP3 External
AP3 New or Existing
AP3 Installed S/N
AP3 Installed MAC etc...

So, basically the report currently shows the data like this:

Store  AP1 External  AP1 New or Existing  AP1 Installed S/N  AP1 Installed Mac  AP2 External  AP2 New or Existing ...