Why does one QuickBase app at my institution require a login and the other one doesn't?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered

I might be missing it in the settings somewhere, but I have two applications. One of them requires a login when you click a hyperlink to a record and the other one doesn't. I want neither of them to require a login (as I would be managing hundreds of users if they did). I would want the general view to be view-only. Thanks. I have a Role called Viewer and it is set to read only, but I don't really see any settings about this.

Photo of Matthew

Matthew

  • 0 Points

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Jack

Jack, Champion

  • 50 Points
Have you considered setting your users up in groups, you can then just simply give the group access to the viewer role. Groups are managed within the section where your billing is. Note access to groups maybe dependent on your subscription level.
Photo of Matthew

Matthew

  • 0 Points
Thank you, I actually figured it out. I had to click "Share app with new users" then choose Groups from the dropdown, then do Everyone on the internet.
Photo of Jack

Jack, Champion

  • 50 Points
Just bear in mind everyone on the internet role is just that, anyone on the internet, this is not restricted to your company. For example if I found out the link for your application I could browse the data and download it without even being a quickbase user.
Photo of Matthew

Matthew

  • 0 Points
Thank you, I've changed it to limit to my institution's users.
Photo of Jack

Jack, Champion

  • 50 Points
The easiest way for you to manage your users is to go and setup a group, in the manage billing account section, click add new group and paste in all the email addresses of your users to form that group and then in your app click the share app button and add that group and set the role to viewer. When a new user starts with the company simply add them to the group (not the app) and they get access automatically. You can use the same group across many apps, so if that group requires view access to 10 apps, once you have given the group a role in each apps, all you have to do to add users or remove users access from these 10 apps is remove them or add them to the group.