Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  App for submitting requests for a team but where users have no other access

Posted 09-09-2022 10:40
    Hello all,

I'm part of a BI team that is taking over the support of QB at our company. I'm new to app building and want to see if anyone has heard/had the following scenario:

We have many apps in QB which users have access. I'm building a new ticketing app for our team to support users who need help with QB or for other tasks that our team handles. 

For this app, I want users (either registered or non-registered) to be able to fill out the form I created but not have any other access to the app. The only people who will have access is our team (as admins) and very few managers from other teams (these will likely have QB licenses).

My thought was that I would build a homepage that has a button to fill out the form (screenshot attached).

Not sure if this is the best way to accomplish my task...so would love some input.

My second question is about permissions. I read about EOTI but 1- that sounds risky and 2- we don't need it for anyone outside of our organization. I thought maybe the better option was granting access to all in our company per this article. However when I try that I get no results...is that how it's supposed to look?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice you can give! :)

------------------------------
    Julie Bowers

• 2.  RE: App for submitting requests for a team but where users have no other access

Posted 09-09-2022 11:26
    You will need to use a Form in an App which has EOTI Access because you have users who need to put in Tickets, but do not have Quickbase access.  Even if you were on a plan which had virtually unlimited users counts (a so called Usage Based Plan), all your users would need to have userids and passwords to make a Ticket and that sounds like way too much administration.

So Let's KISS.