Forum Discussion

AndrewPatricio1
Qrew Member
12 months ago

cross-app relationships and performance

Hello,

I've been using QB for 15+ years.   About 12 years ago I was working for an organization that made heavy use of QB.  We had the idea to have a central hub of our core data that would feed to other team apps via cross app relationships.   It was something like 10 apps connected to that central data hub app.   When we did this, all the apps slowed to a crawl.  Literally minutes to respond to clicks etc.   We contacted technical support and they told us that each app runs on a single thread on a server and when you use a cross-app relationship, all the apps tied together like that run on that same single thread.   

Where I am now we are potentially looking to do something similar and I figured that 12 years later we hopefully wouldn't have the same issue.   However, when I checked with tech support they said that though the engineers have made performance tweaks to the cross-app relationships, apps still run on a single thread.   Don't know if that means that all the tied together apps run on that thread or just each app.

So my question is does anyone here run a lot of cross-app relationships, especially in this kind of central core data app, and if so do you see any performance issues?   A cross app relationship would be easier but if it's going to degrade performance I'm likely going to just use a pipeline or external script to update the child tables instead of an actual relationship.

thanks!

Andrew

------------------------------
Andrew Patricio

3 Replies

• If you cause apps to be in a single process, then you deny yourself to have multiple threads,  running on multiple virtual servers. 

But performance will depend on how many concurrent users and the complexity and amount of data in the apps.