Forum Discussion

AnnettaColeman
Qrew Cadet
3 years ago

Grandparent and Parent relationships

I am fairly new to QuickBase and trying to wrap my head around relating both Grandparent and Parent Tables to numerous common children tables.  

Example:   
  • Project Table is a Parent to Change Request Table
  • Both Project Table and Change Request Table are Parents to numerous common tables for
    • Attachments
    • Actions Needed
    • Financial Summaries
    • Tollgate & Quality Reviews
  • In this relationship Project Table is both a Grand Parent and also a Parent to the common tables

Problem:
I am struggling with how to set up table relationships so that from the Project Table Main Form I can easily see both Children Records and also Grandchildren Records.  What is the most straightforward way to accomplish this?   I have tried allowing all of the relationships to be established via Related Project / Related Change Request and also via common Reference Proxy to Project ID but embedded report link continues to show only Children and not Grand Children. 

Thanks in advance.

------------------------------
Annetta Coleman

4 Replies

• Do I understand correctly that, for example, a Project Table may have many attachments, but also, a project table may have many change requests, and those change requests ALSO have many attachments.

You would like the report link on the Projects table to show ALL attachments. The attachments for the Project, and the attachments for ALL the change requests?

Mike Tamoush
      AnnettaColeman
      Qrew Cadet

Mike -
      Yes, this application is to provide Portfolio Management over hundreds of projects.