Forum Discussion

Yurij
Qrew Member
3 months ago

Table Relationships - Connected CSV Table

Hello Community, 

I'm relatively new to QB and hoping this is an easy one for someone.  

Background:

Parent Table - Orders

Child Table - Actuals 

Relationship One-To-Many Orders -> Actuals

The Child table (Actuals) is a timecard export (csv) from our enterprise software that I plan to update periodically using manual refresh as part of the Connected Table functionality. The child table has many timecard entries for several orders. Ultimately, I'd like to create a report from the Parent table that summarizes fields from the Child table. eg. Sum of JTD Hours related by the Order #. 

So, I've created a relationship between the two tables and added summary fields to the parent table. When I run the report and use the summary field in the report the data is blank.  After reading several discussions I've played around with Reference IDs, Keys, Proxy fields, formulas pointing to other fields, join tables but I haven't been successful.   From what I gather the relationship isn't established properly but I can't figure out why?  So, I'm starting fresh, hopefully with the help of this community. I'm sure I'm missing something super basic here. 

Here's a snapshot of the simplified table relationship where I've stripped it down only to one target Summary Field Total Sum of JTD Hours although there are several in reality. I'm hoping someone can step me through this. 

Note the following: 

A text field Order exists in the connected child table that identically matches the Order # field in the parent table. 

Order # is a formula text field in the Parent table that essentially concatenates several fields in the Parent table. 

Appreciate any help I can get on this. Please advise if more information required.

Sample Table Data

Parent Table Report with Order # field and Target Summary field Total Sum of JTD

Child table report with QB Key field, Order field and Sum of JTD Hours