Discussions

Expand all | Collapse all

Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

• 1.  Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

Posted 07-15-2019 18:58
    Hi:

I have a master table for Work Orders.  When a work order is complete, and an invoice is generated, I want to create an entry in a related receivables table [Date Invoiced].

What would be the best way to accomplish?

Thank you,

Dirk

• 2.  RE: Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

Posted 07-16-2019 13:33
    I would suggest using Automations:

Online Hlep for Automations
    https://help.quickbase.com/user-assistance/about_quick_base_automations.html

For the trigger, you would want "when data changes".

You can specify the fields that changed, and the filter condition for the trigger to fire - such as:
    [Status] = "Complete] for the Work Order
    AND
    [# of Invoices] > 0

Then the action would be something like:

- Add a record in the Receivables table
    - with [Date Invoiced] = [Date of Last Invoice]  (or something similar)

• 3.  RE: Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

Posted 07-16-2019 15:33
    Xavier:

Totally makes sense.   I am just having trouble with "Add a Record."  I am not seeing this option in drop down.  Any ideas?

Thank you,

Dirk

• 4.  RE: Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

Posted 07-16-2019 15:38
    Note that I was suggesting using Automations, NOT Dynamic Form Rules.

You can access Automations by going to settings, and then Automations -> New Automation.

Form rules cannot add a new record - so that would not be suitable for this.

• 5.  RE: Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

Posted 07-18-2019 17:29
    Xavier:

Simple Automation seems easy enough.

I am having trouble adding a record in a related table (I'm pretty certain).
    Passing record ID or something like that.

Dirk

• 6.  RE: Dynamic Form Rule - Adding Record in Related Sub Table

Posted 07-18-2019 17:43