Forum Discussion

AnnetteGioia
Qrew Trainee
6 years ago

Adding items to a current table to track activity, although item won't be processed in current month

Let's see if I can explain this. I have a Master Records table, some records are due monthly, some quarterly, some annually, etc. We copy the table each month pulling only the records that are due for that month. However, we'd like a way to track the monthly activity for ALL records although all of them won't be "processed" that month. Then once it is due, the idea is to pull the activity by month and process those amounts on that non-monthly record. Say for example, I need to enter sales amounts by states, in the current table, Ohio isn't showing up because it is Semi Annual, but I want to enter the sales on a non-active record. We have filing status and date, etc... as fields in the current table. Would it be possible to add "all" records and grey out the fields that we won't be using that month? And just allow edits on certain fields? Hopefully that makes sense. 

5 Replies

• Read it a couple of times - and I think I get what you're saying. So basically do a full copy - but flag them in such a way that you can distinguish the ones that should be processed versus the ones that are simply placeholders that you want to do data entry but shouldn't be reconciled/processed etc. Is that right? 

My suggestion would be to add a formula-checkbox or equivalent in your master records table that would determine based on todays date if that record is going to be processed.

So if record is monthly, this value is true. If record is quarterly, and today is in February, then false. But if on that same record, since we're now it's March, it toggles to true. If your record is Ohio and semi-annual - this checkbox is only true in June and December