Forum Discussion

benrizz17
Qrew Member
2 months ago

Building Checklists

I am trying to build an inspection checklist app, where an inspection checklist appears after selecting that equipment from a dropdown list. I am pretty new to building apps in Quickbase, and I have the dropdown list of all the equipment created (I used the multiple choice form). Once a specific machine is selected on that list, I want to somehow display a checklist that is specific to that machine. 

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

4 Replies

• There are a variety of ways to do this.  

One method is to create a table of inspection checklist items, where there are two fields. One field will be the machine name, and the other will be the inspection item.

You can create a Pipeline line that is triggered "on new event" when the machine parent record's multiple-choice machine name has changed.

After the Trigger step in the pipeline, the next step will be to search that table of inspection items with a filter that the machine type of the inspection items and matches the machine type in the trigger record step.

Then a For Each loop to add an inspection checklist record to the machine Parent record.  Be sure to populate the field for Related Machine, (the parent record from the trigger step) or else you will create floating orphan checklist items!) 

Feel free to post back if you have a problem with the Pipeline.

There is also another method which would give a slightly better user experience by more instantly populating the checklist, but it's a bit more complicated to set up, and you may find that this is quick enough for your users.  They will need to refresh the page to see the results of the pipeline's run.