Forum Discussion

MontgomeryHepne
Qrew Cadet
5 years ago

I am trying to learn formulas in QB.

Clearly I am new to formulas. I am trying to replicate examples listed in the Sample Formulas Home. The formula I am trying to work through is: Color rows based on who a user is it uses this example: If([Assigned To]=ToUser("baker@example.com"), "pink", ""). I created a user field and then a formula to display the associated email for that user. 

My field names are [Salesperson] type: User and then [Email] type: Formula Email

What confuses is me is where I place this code. Does it get added to my formula email field? If so, how would the syntax look? Do I create an additional formula field and add my modified code (from the example)? Hopefully this will start to makes sense soon :)

7 Replies

• It looks like you are trying to color rows on a table report. 

There is a formula box on the report configuration to do row colorization. That is where the formula goes.
  • That did it. It must be me, but I find the reference material lacking in that basic information. Regardless, thank you Mark.
  • Well, the alternative to the help text is sitting yourself down for 30 minutes a day, every day, and getting though the free and actually quite comprehensive Quick Base university videos.
  • That is fair, however, I have done that completely and still find that the formula portion is sorely lacking much detail when it comes to being thorough. I will say that they have helped me in many areas, just not that particular area.
      JasonJohnson2
      Qrew Cadet