Discussions

View Only
  • 1.  One Approve Button for Multiple Approvers

Posted 12-13-2018 02:39
    Hi,

I'm still new to QB so apologies if this is basic. I've created an app with a workflow of 3 approvers and I'm wondering if it is possible to create an Approve/Reject button that would work for all of them or if I need to create 3 sets of Approve/Reject buttons.

Here're the details:
    These approvers are based on roles from a business unit, e.g. Approver 1 is Business Leader, Approver 2 is VP, etc. I have a separate/related table of the actual users in each role by business unit, e.g. Business Leader for Marketing can be Jane Doe and VP for Marketing is Bob Smith. I've created 3 fields with Approved/Rejected for each of the roles/approval levels, e.g. Business Leader Approval, VP approval, etc. and I've also created a lookup field of the person that needs to approve based on the business unit of the request. I also have a field called 'Current Approver' to show where the request is sitting. 

Is it possible for me to create a button that only shows up if Current User = Current Approver, and then IF Current User = VP, then update the field VP Approval=Approved, ELSE IF Current User = Business Leader, then update the field Business Leader Approval=Approved?

I have looked at other posts of related topic but each seem to have a hard-coded fid for the specific field that needs to be changed to 'Approved', but I was wondering if I can make it more dynamic based on who is approving, which fields get updated?

If that's not possible, what is a good alternative to make the end user experience easier with buttons for approvals? I'm also hoping to use these buttons for e-mail notifications later. Do I just need to create 3 sets of approve/reject buttons (one for each level of approval) and hide the other buttons from the other approvers?