Forum Discussion

samhari
Qrew Trainee
6 years ago

Autofill Multiple Child records from sibling table

Hello i am brand new to quickbase so please forgive me if some of my terms are incorrect or misleading, I'm trying to be as clear as possible. So say i have 4 tables Jobs, Job Details, Travelers, and Traveler Details. They are related very simply. A single Job Record can have Multiple Job Details Records, as well as Multiple Traveler Records. A single Traveler Record can have multiple Traveler Details Records.

The 'Traveler Details' and 'Job Details' tables are very dependent. A 'Traveler Detail' always relates to a specific 'Job Detail'.

What i would like to do is add a URL Formula button on my 'Travelers' form that finds all the related 'Job Details' Records for the 'Job' this Traveler belongs to and creates a new 'Traveler Detail' record for each one with some default values. I've found documentation for API_AddRecord witch i think would allow me to do what i want. But i cant seem to find a way to iterate through all the 'Job Details' associated to the Parent Table (Jobs). Is something like a for loop or forEach possible inside a form URL formula?

Like i said i'm new to quickbase, so a quick explanation and links to the appropriate docs would be best. I do have javascript experience i would not shy away from an answer that required a bit of custom scripting

6 Replies

• Can we clarify the heart of your question

You say this.

What i would like to do is add a URL Formula button on my 'Travelers' form that finds all the related 'Job Details' Records for the 'Job' this Traveler belongs to and creates a new 'Traveler Detail' record for each one with some default values

It sounds instead that you want a button on the Job Record to identify its Job Detail child records and copy them into equivalent Travellor details records. Is that your real question?

If so yes that can easyily be done with native Quick Base, no code.
      samhari
      Qrew Trainee