Forum Discussion

BrittanyScheid
Qrew Cadet
5 years ago

Filter Report Based on User Role

Hi there,
I'm still relatively new to Quick Base, but I was wondering if there is a way to filter a report based on the user role.  We have two different levels of staff - Reviewers and Team Leads, and I've created roles for each.  There's also a field for each in our reviews table.  Each review has both assigned to it.  However, Team Leads can also be assigned as a Reviewer, with someone else as the Team Lead.  I want to create a report that excludes anyone from the Team Lead level.  I know you can use filters such as where Reviewer <> the user listed in Team Lead, but as I mentioned above, a Team Lead could be assigned as the Reviewer with someone else as the Team Lead, so that wouldn't work.  Is there any way to filter based on their role?  Thanks!!

------------------------------
Brittany Zane

6 Replies

• Brittany,
    Even for an experienced user, that is a very interesting question, so no apologies for being new to Quick Base. 

There is a recent enhancement we got in the form of a new function which allows, for the first time, for a formula to "see" the User's Role.  Previously only form Rules could do that.

The function's Help is here.  It's a bit confusing to understand the Help but the examples help.

https://login.quickbase.com/db/6ewwzuuj?a=dr&r=gj&rl=dme

If you use the function UserRoles("ID") and the user was in Roles # 10 and #11 (you get the number by clicking on the role name and observing the URL),  then the function would return  10 ; 11

ie the Role numbers separated by space ; space

You can also get the names to return with
    UserRoles("Name") which would return
    Participant ; Administrator 

or UserRoles("") will return
    11/Participant ; 12/Administrator

The advantage of hooking onto the number of the Role is that if you change the name of the Role it will not break your formula.