Forum Discussion

DavidRice
Qrew Member
3 years ago

Help with pipeline/automation

I'm wondering if someone would be willing to help me with setting up a new pipeline. I am new to pipelines, and am trying to achieve the following:

In our Sales table, we are manually importing records from another database (actually from our website) from a CSV file. One of the text fields in this import is called "Product Text Import" and contains the name of the purchased product. We have another table in the same QB app called "Products" which contains a good majority of the products we have for sale, and so we need to link the imported sales to the related product. The problem is the import does not contain the record ID for the related product.

So, what we would like the pipeline/automation to do is whenever a new record is added (or imported) in Sales to search the Products table for a record there with the product name that matches what is in the "Product Text Import" field and then link it to that record in Sales by copying its record ID to the related product field.

And then, to take it a step further, if the automation does NOT find any product by that name, it should add a new record in the Products table with that product name and then link that new product to the new Sale.

Is something like this possible? I have been trying to build a pipeline, but am finding it a bit challenging-- probably because I am a beginner to pipelines. Any help someone can provide would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if any clarification is needed on the above proposed process.

------------------------------
David David

2 Replies

AustinK
    Qrew Commander