Forum Discussion

TracyHimes
Qrew Member
4 years ago

Making a required field editable when rule in place to keep same response as other field.

I'm a newbie so bare with me. 
I created an app (looks like a checklist) that has 2 fields. 
Rule created:
When- (Field 1) is equal to "No",  Action -Change (Field 2) to "No".   
User saves and closes checklist. 

I need to make the 2nd field editable so when the user goes back into checklist they can change Field 2 to "Yes" without changing Field 1. 
So, I created a 2nd rule >When (Field 1)  is equal to "No", Make Editable-(Field 2). 

So, this works on a new checklist, but does not work when user goes back into the checklist via Edit mode.  
Any suggestions?

------------------------------
Tracy Himes

8 Replies

• Tracy -

Can you explain your use case a bit? I'm trying to understand why you would want to do this because I have to think there's a better way.

Blake Harrison
    bharrison@datablender.io
    DataBlender - Quick Base Solution Provider
    Atlanta GA
    404.800.1702 / http://datablender.io/
      TracyHimes
      Qrew Member
      We audit documents using a checklist to document results.
      Field 1 would be the actual document we are reviewing. We document if it was found=Yes, not found or incomplete=No or simply N/A if not a required document.
      Field 2 represents if the validation is complete or not. Yes/No/N/A.  
      So the user fills out the checklist, sends the results to the assignee.  The No responses would need to be addressed. They fix the issue and send the auditors back the results/response. 
      The reviewer goes back in the QB checklist to update field 2 from "no" to "yes" to show the validation is complete.  However, we want Field 1 to remain the original response of "no" so we can track the audit findings.

(Excuse my title of this post)

Tracy Himes
        BlakeHarrison
        Qrew Captain