Forum Discussion

JayWhite
Qrew Trainee
5 years ago

Newbie looking for help on the best application architecture for a complex app

Hello, I am very new to Quick Base and playing with the trial.  While under the trial I am most certainly not going to fully develop this app, but my hope is that I can find a platform in a way to make an ERP system for my company.  Basically a hybrid of an architectural firm and contractor in one so we need to manage projects from design through opening day.  Many phases, many deliverables, etc.  One of my goals is to take what is now independent systems and combine into one:

Project Management Software
CRM
Expense Tracking
Communication Tools
File Storage (for project related material) 
Etc.

So my question is do I develop all of this one application or will that be cumbersome?  Should i build a Contact Manager App, an Opportunity Manager App, a Project Management App and share data or build all under one master application?  

The architecture of Quick Base seams to support individual apps, but most people through forum seem to say one big app.

Currently we are 50 employees and expecting to go through a nice growth period.  But we have a long time until we are in the hundreds count (although certainly hope to get their one day!)

Thanks in advance

10 Replies

• It's hard to give a blanket answer. Everyone is different in how they want their organization to work. You could certainly build one big app - and you'd be just fine. You could also build a 'hub and spoke' idea, where you have different apps that are all isolated into smaller chunks/specific purposes - and then you use Quick Base syncs or automations to make them all talk to one another so it still acts like one big system.