Forum Discussion

DavidJung
Qrew Assistant Captain
8 months ago

Using QB for CPQ app?

I've been using QB for ten years for our company's quoting system. We're at a point where we need to decide about upgrading to a CPQ (configure/price/quote) app, for accuracy and integration with our ERP. I searched this form and exactly one reference to CPQ. My experience with QB imagines all things are possible, but CPQ can be complex and I'm not sure if buiding something from scratch is the right answer.

Specifically on my mind, as a builder, I am not experienced in making rules that a configurator would require, where the conflict of daughter items is resolved (can't buy tinting if a window isn't included). I have a few times I've done something like that, but feels like a work-around, and would be core to CPQ. Especially when the user changes their mind about which items they want.

Anyway, just looking for some feedback, from the community about this, thanks.

------------------------------
David Jung

5 Replies

• Well let me weigh in with a random opinion. I have been working with Quickbase first as a kind of power user when I was a manager and then after we sold our family business as a developer, in all since 2002. so 20+ years.  I have worked with I imagine more than 100 clients and countless apps. And all I can say is when you get into the intricacies of building an app with crazy business rules, there's always a way to do it with QuickBase one way or the other.  

The famous Quickbase sales engineer Kirk Trachy, now retired had a great expression. "If you can say it, we can do it."   And what he meant by that is if you can clearly enunciate in words, the business rule or the formula or the restriction that you are trying to implement then we can do it. The challenge often becomes being crystal clear about what the requirement is.