Forum Discussion

MarkComish
Qrew Assistant Captain
7 years ago

How can I create and relate a Parent Company and a Subsidiary Company

I have several companies in my "Companies" table that are Parent Companies.  I have several Subsidiary's of the Parent Companies listed as Companies as well.  How can I relate the Subsidiaries and the Parent Companies to each other?  I also have contacts that need to belong to both the Parent Company and the Subsidiary Company.  On the "Companies" table I want a place for if you select the Parent Company to select and relate its Subsidiary Company and visa versa.  Then I need a way for the contacts to be able to be related to either the Parent Company, the Subsidiary or both if needed.

Hope this makes sense.  I am very new to QuickBase and appreciate any advice.

20 Replies

• Hi Mark,

For scalability in the long term I would recommend planning to build that out so that you have three tables. One for Parent Companies, one for Subsidiaries, and one for Contacts. This way you can have Parent Companies that have Subsidiaries and then both Parent Companies and Subsidiary Company can be related to Contacts. This way you can have a nice flow from Parent Companies to Subsidiary and then from both those tables to Contacts. This keeps all of your data organized and flowing in a way that breaks down the two types of companies you have. Unless you have a use case where a company would be both a Parent and a Subsidiary?

MarkComish
      Qrew Assistant Captain