Forum Discussion

KatyKaty
Qrew Trainee
8 years ago

Can I create a field which looks up data from another record within the same table?

Hi there, 

I'm new to this so bear with me....

I have a table for "Supplies", and a table for "Tariffs". Each supply can have many tariffs (but only one is "live" at any given time). 

Is there a way to add a field to my Tariffs table which would provide detail from the previous tariff? 

So for example, Tariff 1 might be for the period 1 Jan 15 - 31 Dec 15 and be provided by "Supplier A", and Tariff 2 would be for the period 1 Jan 16 - 31 Dec 16 and be provided by "Supplier B". 

In the record for Tariff 2, I would like there to be a field called "Previous Supplier" which for this example would provide the value "Supplier A". 

Any thoughts / advice appreciated! 

8 Replies

• Hi Katy,

Screenshot prototype of your requirement is attached.

Please provide feedback regarding it.

Thanks,

Neal

NealPatil @ gmx.com

• Hi Neal,

Thanks for your reply.

Your screenshot shows my required end result - I just need to work out how to achieve it.

Katy
  • Katy,

QuickBase allows a table to be related to itself.  So just set up that relationships and you will be able to chose your previous supplier and get any lookup values from the previous record.  The only trick part is really in naming the fields so it is clear to yourself and the user when they are selecting when they choose the previous Tariff.  QuickBase will give a name like [Related Tariff] that you will need to rename.
  • Thanks Mark, I've managed to set up the new field which would allow users to select the previous tariff from a drop down menu of all tariffs which relate to the appropriate supply.

Is there any way to create a field which would automatically populate the correct previous tariff? I would rather avoid users having to select it manually if at all possible.