Forum Discussion

DavidLichty
Qrew Trainee
6 years ago

Created a Copy of an Existing App and Want to Use Existing Fields to Link to a New Related Table

I have an app that I've been using for many years to contain common and frequenly used information about team members when assigning work.

As team members do their work, they assign each record to themselves via a drop-down list that is a relationship to the team member table in this app.  (They select Related-Team-Member.)

Our team just had a split, and some will stay with the main team, and some will go to a new independent team.

I made a copy of the app and have the team members split up so that they are listed in one of the two separate apps.

The apps that they actually do the work from (the apps that link back to the main app) have historical data.  To maintain continuity of reporting I would like to have the work app link to the new assignment app.  If possible using the same "related" field.

Ideally I would like to run reports in the do-the-work app so that the work done by team members (Bob, Mary, and Sumit, for example) would seamlessly show work they did in the past and work they do in the future.

Is there a way to create a relationship to the new assign-the-work app in the existing do-the-work app and have it use the same Related-Team-Member field in the do-the-work app to access the related record in the assign-work app?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

- David

6 Replies

MCFNeil
    Qrew Captain
    If you really want the same reporting and historical data.  I'd strongly recommend you keep it all in the same app.
    BUT you can modify the roles and permissions so the two teams can work in the same application.  You may have to make a small modification to the setup.

If they truly are the same process, same reports, and just different teams.  Use the same app, and have roles save the day.
      DavidLichty
      Qrew Trainee
      Thank you Matthew.