Forum Discussion

DelynnMontrose
Qrew Trainee
5 years ago

Populating another field from a selected Text - Multiple Choice field

I am VERY new to Quick Base so please forgive my ignorance.
I have a table that contains a contact name and their phone number.
I have the name in a Text - Multiple Choice field on a form and I would like to have the Phone number populated when I select a contact name. I would appreciate any help with this I just can't seem to figure out the trick to doing this.
Thanks

------------------------------
Delynn M.

5 Replies

• No problem
    Down and dirty multiple choice fields are best used for simple drop downs with just a few choices.  For example Yes/ No or Approved / Rejected.  But when you get either to a lot of choices or when there is extra information to be pulled in as a result of that choice, then the way to go is to set up a table for these choices.  Here is some help on Relationships.  https://help.quickbase.com/user-assistance/creating_a_relationship.html  Post back if you have more questions about Relationships.

Mark Shnier (YQC)
    Quick Base Solution Provider
    Your Quick Base Coach
    http://QuickBaseCoach.com
    markshnier2@gmail.com
      DelynnMontrose
      Qrew Trainee
      Thanks yes I have the values in a separate table. The list is fairly small.
      Example: This is the contact table

This is on a form that references ContactName
      When the user selects a name from the list I want it to fill in Contact Number.

Delynn Montrose
      214-282-7440

Virus-free. www.avg.com

------Original Message------

No problem