Forum Discussion

MichaelFrishman
Qrew Cadet
7 years ago

Popup for multiple-choice selection

I'm trying to create a button on a child record (purchase order line) shown as a report on a parent (job#) form. I'd like the button to show a popup that asks the user to select from a multiple choice field (month work complete) in the child table, and once the user selects the month the work was complete, that data and the date stamp gets recorded in the child table. The user would return to the parent form.

I'm sure you can do this via Dan Diebolt's Image Onload technique, which I can get to show a popup, but I don't know how to get the user to select data that returns to the child record. I'm not a coder but I can usually take someone else's code and make it work, but I can't find anything in the community that I can use.

Another options is to click a button on the child record to take the user to a child form, where the user selects the multiple-choice field, but saving that just takes the user back to the child record instead of the parent record.

Thanks in advance for any help.

5 Replies

• This worked in a test I just did for a button on the child record on the embedded report on the Parent.  It returned to the parent on saving the child.

var text Edit = URLRoot() & "db/" & Dbid() & "?a=er&dfid=XX&rid=" & [Record ID#];
    var text DisplayParent = URLRoot() & "db/" & [_DBID_PARENT] & "?a=dr&rid=" & [Related Parent];

$Edit
    & "&NextURL=" & URLEncode($DisplayParent)

If you want to have a super mini form with just say that one multiple choice field, then make a super mini form and specify the form ID# in place of the XX.  Obviously replace [_DBID_PARENT] with the table name of the parent form the Advanced Properties for the parent table.
  • Adding another step, I'd like to populate a datestamp in the form that the user is taken to. I tried adding this to the code you gave me: