Forum Discussion

KateTheriault
Qrew Cadet
6 years ago

Is there a way to create a recursive query in QuickBase to return all items from a table with relationships that may be several layers deep?

I know there isn't a way to to do recursion natively in Quickbase. 

I have a bunch of recipes that nest 5 levels deep. I want to create a query to flatten the structure. Is there a dirty way to do this with API_DoQuery? We only have 500 API calls a day, so this can't get too dirty.

The problem is I'm not a web developer, so I'm not sure how to pull the database out into JS or whatever and do the recursivity with those languages. We can't afford to spend thousands of dollars hiring out a developer to do this, so I'm trying the best I can.

If there isn't a way to do this using API_DoQuery, does anyone know of some tutorials that might be relevant to how to fully export a table out of Quickbase and do something like what I'm describing? Or maybe there is an add-on that does something like this? 

I have to imagine this is a pretty common desire from people using QuickBase.

Thanks in advance! 

8 Replies

• A table can indeed be related to itself, so maybe there is a native solution. Can you give an example of what you are trying to do?
  • Sure. Here is an example recipe (although this only nests 3 levels deep). 

Top recipe Bolognese consists of: 
     1 unit of Subrecipe: Sauce 
        Ingredient: Tomatoes 8 oz 
        2 units of Subrecipe: Bolognese spice blend
          Ingredient: Garlic Powder 0.01 oz
          Ingredient: Thyme 0.01 oz
      Ingredient: Pasta 8 oz
      Ingredient: Salt 0.02 oz