Discussions

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

How to setup a field to add a suffix after submission?

• 1.  How to setup a field to add a suffix after submission?

Posted 07-14-2017 17:36
    The question may not have been much clear, so hopefully, this explains what I'm talking about. I ran into problems with integration with Quick Books, so my solution has to be to add a suffix "(c)" when we input the Name of person on an invoice. For instance, Smith (c).

However, I know the person who will input the names will forget to add the suffix. So, I'm wondering is there a formula can be used that can add this suffix to the name after its submitted?

I'm new at this and have no coding or formula knowledge, so step by step is preferred. Please and thanks.

• 2.  RE: How to setup a field to add a suffix after submission?

Posted 07-14-2017 17:43
    You can do it two ways.  
    (1) With a formula field and a form rule to update the needed text field.
    or
    (2) With just a formula field.

It depends on the 'integration' with QBooks.
    Are you able to change the field in the report or code that runs the 'integration'?

• 3.  RE: How to setup a field to add a suffix after submission?

Posted 07-14-2017 17:48
    My integration with quick books is through workato. I'm not overly familiar with the capabilities inside workato, but I can control what I take from quick base and send to quick books. I cannot change the titles of the fields within workato, just which fields. I think it needs to be more quick base done though. Is it possible with the formula field to allow this person to type in the name and auto put the suffix after they continue with the rest of form?

• 4.  RE: How to setup a field to add a suffix after submission?

Posted 07-14-2017 17:51
    Yes, now that we know you have control over changing the field you will want to go with option 2.

Create a new formula field and have it add the "(c)" after the name.