Is there a permission to allow somebody to only delete the records they created ? If so is there a way limit the period of time after they created the record to do so ?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
I would like to allow people to fix mistakes shortly after they have made them but not go back and change data later.  

Ideally under permission - a column called delete - just the same as View and Modify.

Maybe there is an easier way to do the same thing.

Thanks in advance.
Photo of Trevor

Trevor

  • 32 Points

Posted 3 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Blake Harrison - DataBlender

Blake Harrison - DataBlender, Champion

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Delete permissions are dependent on the Modify permissions. For example, if the user does not have permission to Modify a record, they also cannot Delete a record. If you wish to set a time limit for modifications, you will need to setup a Formula Checkbox with a formula along these lines:

Now()<= [Date Created] + Hours(1)

This would provide a Checked value for 1 hour after the record is created. You can then use this Formula Checkbox in the Custom Rules under the Modify permissions and only allow Modification if [Formula Checkbox] is Checked.