Is there any way to disable the system "Suggestion" popup that says "You've been working on this form for over x minutes. We recommend that you save your work regularly"

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered

This pops up at least every 30 minutes and routinely annoys users who ask to have it turned off.  They know they risk losing data if they don't save and feel they don't need reminded every 30 minutes and have to clear a pop up.   

Photo of Beth

Beth

  • 170 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training

QuickBaseCoach App Dev./Training, Champion

  • 65,320 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
... I doubt it.  It is also possible (just a hunch, no facts) that when a Grid Edit is open, that QuickBase is having to watch those records for conflicting edits between users.  ie, when the Grid Edit came up, a record said "black" and then while it was on your screen someone else changed it to "white.".  QuickBase has to watch for those conflicts and be ready at all times to guide the user though possible multiple record conflict resolution.  So, I'm guessing that QuickBase does not want to do that for long periods of time as they cannot put an idle App to sleep as long as a Grid edit is active and unresolved.  So it will sit in expensive live memory until the grid edit is saved.
Photo of Ⲇanom the ultimate (Dan Diebolt)

Ⲇanom the ultimate (Dan Diebolt), Champion

  • 30,044 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
>... I doubt it. 

... I believe it. In fact, I could probably come up with a dozen different way to do this. However, I don't think doing so is a great idea because you are overriding the safety net QuickBase has implemented to protect your data from accidental loss.

In grid edit implement the image onload technique with the following code:

GeData.prototype.Pester = undefined;

If you need additional help or want to know 11 different ways to do this feel free to contact me off-world using the information in my profile.